Virtuosity is a concerto soloist program offering young musicians mentorship, professional development and performance experience.

As the premiere concerto competition for Victoria’s best and brightest emerging musicians, Virtuosity offers future soloists invaluable performance opportunities, professional development experience, mentorship and career support in addition to cash prizes and the presentation of the coveted Virtuosity Perpetual Trophy.


Past Award Winners

First: William Soo, Piano – SAINT SEANS Piano Concerto No.2 in G minor, Op.22
Second: Tim Huddleston, Tuba – VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Tuba Concerto in F minor
Third: Gregory Skalak, Piano – MOSZKOWSKI Piano Concerto in E Major, Op.59

First: Emma Morrison, Bassoon – WEBER Andante and Hungarian Rondo, Op.35
Second: Eliza Shephard, Flute – REINECKE Flute Concerto Op.283
Third: Sam Beagley, Trumpet – BOHME Trumpet Concerto in F minor

First: Louis Nicoll, Piano – LISZT Totentanz: Paraphrase on Dies Irae S.126
Second: Yebin Yoo, Violin – SIBELIUS Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.47
Third: Leo Mares, Piano – ARENSKY Piano Concerto in F Minor Op.2

First: Josef Hanna, Violin – TCHAIKOVSKY Violin Concerto: Mvt 1
Second: Sam Beagley, Trumpet – ARUTIUNIAN Trumpet Concerto
Third: Andrew Fong, Clarinet – DEBUSSY Rhapsodie

First: Natasha Hanna, Violin – SIBELIUS Violin Concerto, Op.47
Young Ye, Cello – DVOŘÁK Cello Concerto, Op.104
Karla Hanna, Violin – BARBER Violin Concerto, Op.14